Driving under the influence, or drunk driving, is a serious offense that cannot be taken lightly. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a person is guilty of a DUI if he or she drives with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or more. The first DUI offense can result in a fine of $500-$1000 and imprisonment for up to 6 months. On top of that, a mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 per hour of community service will be imposed. The offender's driver's license may also be revoked for a time period anywhere from 180 days to one year.
A second DUI offense can result in a fine of $1000 to $2000 and imprisonment for up to 9 months. If this was the second DUI conviction within 5 years, then the offender's driver's license will be revoked for at least 5 years. A person with a third DUI conviction within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI is guilty of a third degree felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).
If you injure others while driving under the influence, the consequences are even more serious. Causing bodily injury to another is a first degree misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine of up to $1000, or a one-year imprisonment. Causing serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is a third degree felony, which comes with a punishment of up to 5 years in prison and/or a $5000 fine.
Being convicted of a DUI is a serious matter that can have a far-reaching effect on your life. The fines and penalties for driving under the influence are severe - you could be fined thousands of dollars, have your driver's license revoked, and spend months or even years in prison. If you are facing any type of DUI charge in Florida, your best option is to consult with an attorney who can advise you regarding your legal defenses and the best course of action for you to take. The attorneys at Anidjar & Levine are experienced in handling DUI cases and have consistently provided high quality representation to clients all over Florida.