A drug possession conviction comes with serious consequences for one's life, future and career opportunities. Some of the penalties for drug possession include imprisonment, significant fines and loss of one's driver's license for two years.
Florida law sets forth mandatory minimum sentencing guidelines for drug possession. These penalties depend greatly on factors such as the type and quantity of drug found in possession. For example, possession of up to 20 grams of marijuana is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1000 fine. Possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana, or possession of other controlled substances (e.g. cocaine, heroin, meth or ecstasy) is a third degree felony with a maximum sentence of 5 years in jail and a $5000 fine. If the defendant is convicted of possession of more than 10 grams of heroin, this is considered a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Furthermore, the government can bring additional charges if the defendant is found to have drug-related paraphernalia and/or chemicals used to manufacture drugs. The use, possession, manufacture, delivery or advertisement of drug paraphernalia (such as needles, syringes, scales, bongs and pipes) is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine.
A drug possession charge is a serious offense that can put your entire future in jeopardy. If you are facing a drug possession charge in Florida, you should seek the advice of a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who will advocate for your rights and interests. The attorneys at Anidjar & Levine have years of experience handling drug possession cases and will work to develop an effective legal defense to get your charges dismissed or reduced.
If you need legal assistance with a drug possession charge, call (800) 747-FREE or fill out and submit our online "Contact Us" form to schedule a free, confidential consultation with an experienced South Florida drug possession defense attorney.